Aug 18, 2017

Gajaba Supercross to kickoff on 27th

The sixteenth edition of the Gajaba Supercross organized by the Sri Lanka Army Light Infantry Regiment and conducted by Sri Lanka Auto Sports Drivers Association is scheduled to be held on August 27.

The event will take place at the Gajaba Regimental Supercross circuit at Regimental Complex in Saliyapura, Anuradhapura commencing at 09.00 am.

On this the organizers have planned to conduct a total of 25 event 13 car events and 12 motor cycle events inclusive of event for Children under the age 10 years.

These details were disclosed to the media at a press briefing held at the SLEME Auditorium in Slave Island on Wednesday. Addressing the media Adjutant General of Sri Lanka Army and Colonel of the Regiment and the chairman of the organizing Committee of the Gajaba Supercross, Major General Shavendra Silva said that his regiment lost the highest number soldiers including high ranked Officers during the ethnic conflict.

Our Regiment considers that it is one of our major commitments to look after the welfare of the families of soldiers who lost their lives and also the disabled soldiers. Our Regiment also takes care of the educational matters connected children of same. In the past with proceeds gained through the Gajaba Supercross were used to build houses for the needy families offered scholarships and also donated School needs for the children of our Regiment’s soldiers. A part of the funds too were also used to improve the welfare and other recreational activities of our soldiers.

General also said that a pavilion was named after veteran racing rider Ananda Wedisinghe who left us few months back after an accident during the Nuwara Eliya road races, also the organizing Committee decided to offer a challenge Trophy under his name for the Champion rider in the Super Motard Motor Cycle event.

Mahesh Gammanpila the President of the SLADA speaking said that this event has gained the popularity among all motor racing fans from all parts of the country. This year’s events have attracted a record number of entries amounting to over 200 competitors (104 entries for cars and 134 entries for motor cycle events.

The most looked forward event the SL-GT cars up to 3500cc Class has topped the highest number of entries this year with 16 entries. In previous years this event is run twice as race one and two. But as the number of cars increased the track is unable to set all cars in one event. To overcome the organizers have decide to split in to two groups as ‘A’ and ‘B’. The drivers who come up top of these two groups will have to face the starter at the third race which can be considered as the final.

He further added that the Ford Laser/Mazda class too will be a highly competitive event as this class too has over 20 drivers in competition.

In the motor cycle events a hot competition can be expected as all leading riders in country are billed to compete at this event hoping grab the CEAT Championship title for the year 2017.

Young riders in the calibre of Ishan Dassanyake, Evon B. Gurusinghe, Shehan C. Adikari, Jacques Gunawardena and Lahiru Jeewantha are set to challenge former nation Champion Gayan Sandaruwan who has come strongly after a lapse of one year.        

 In the Motor car events especially in the SL-GT class a hot competition is expected as all leading drivers inclusive of Ahsna Silva, Pasindu Peiris, Janaka Dias and young Kushan Peiris get involved in a prestige battle. With all these drivers in competition the spectator are sure witness the best action on this day.

The main sponsor for the Gajaba Supercross 2017 is CEAT Kelani International Tyre Ltd. Other sponsor who have come forward as sponsors are Maliban, Staford Motor Co. Ltd. Elephant House.

The Champion Driver and Rider at Gajaba Supercross will be awarded the Major Gamini Gunesekera Challenge Trophy while the Champion Rider is to receive the Ralph Kapinsky Challenge trophy.