Mar 24, 2017

Nepal to lock horns with Lankan cricket legends

Nepali cricketers are set to host Sri Lankan legends in a three-match T20 series beginning from April 27.

The matches will be played on April 27, 29 and May 1 at the Tribhuvan University stadium in Kathmandu. This series is to mark the 60th anniversary of the diplomatic ties between Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Some of the Sri Lankan players, who will feature in the series include Sanath Jayasuriya, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Aravinda de Silva, Chaminda Vaas and Upul Chandana. Playing against such legends will give Nepal a chance to hone their skills and also improve the ties between the two SAARC nations.

De Silva will captain Sri Lanka legends, while the current Nepal captain Paras Khadka will lead the Gorkha Rhinos

A few active Sri Lankan cricketers, too, will take part in this competition. Upul Tharanga, Rangana Herath, Dilshan Munaweera, Farveez Maharoof, Sachitra Senanayake and Chamara Silva will also take part in this series, according to the organisers Periwinkle Service. Khadka has said that this series will give an opportunity for Nepal cricketers a lot of exposure and a chance to learn from some of the legends, according to On this occasion, Nepal’s first ever captain Uttam Karmacharya will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Also, Nepal Women’s captain Nary Thapa, President of Cricket Association for Blind Pawan Ghimire and Buddhi Pradhan too will be honoured at this occasion. The Nepal national team are on a rise.

They recently won both their games against Kenya in the ICC World Cricket League Championship (WCLC) at home, with thousands of fans thronging the stadium to watch the match.