Nov 28, 2018

Little stars who shone at Jayasuriya Academy awards ceremony (pics)

The awards ceremony of the Sanath Jayasuriya Cricket Academy took place at the Boralesgamuwa Golden Rose hotel complex.

Many rising cricket stars who had excelled during 2017-18 received awards under four categories.

A highlight of the evening was that brothers Santhul and Sanithu Wijayaratne bagged five awards.

Santhul Wijayaratne (9) bagged the runner-up prize for the under 11 cricketer of the year, best batsman, best bowler runner-up award and the award for displaying exceptional talent during this year.

It is said that the award was presented for his exceptional capability displayed during matches against the visiting Qatar team and scoring a century for the Sanath Jayasuriya Academy.

Santhul’s brother Sanithu Wijayaratne was the Academy colours and the KYCA organised inter academy special award for his contribution to the Sanath Jayasuriya Academy.

Sanath’s son Ranuk Jayasuriya won the award for the under 13 rising cricketer, while Helika Fernando, Rahul Hettiarachchi and Thareen Weerasinghe won this award under the other age categories.

Deemath Gale won three awards in the under 11 category, while Sandul Abayawardena, Rachintha de Silva, Dilana Damsara and Duvindu Silva won awards for the cricketer of the year under the age categories of 9, 11, 13 and 15 years.

The Sanath Jayasuriya Cricket Academy awards ceremony was attended by a large gathering of parents and trainers, while the Chief Guest for the evening was 1996 world cup winning Captain Arjuna Ranatunge.




Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.