Nov 26, 2018

Minister appoints new selection panel

Minister of Sports - Faiszer Musthapa yesterday (25) sacked the panel of cricket selectors as the struggling national team is heading for a series whitewash in their Test series against England.

Considering recommendations of the Cricket Advisory Committee, the minister has appointed a new selection panel to be chaired by former Test player Asantha De Mel.

The other members of the new panel include Brendon Kuruppu, Hemantha Wickramaratne and Chaminda Mendis.

The first task of the new selection panel will be to select the squad for the upcoming New Zealand tour.

(Pics courtesy :

Hon. Minister meets with the previous selection panel 780x544

Related News :
Cricket selection committee to be changed