Dec 01, 2019

Two more ministers to sworn in next week

It is reported that the government is considering to appoint two more MPs as State Ministers.

Accordingly, Badulla District MP Dilan Perera and Kurunegala District MP T.B Ekanayae are to be appointed as State Ministers.

Presently, Gotabaya Rajapaksa's government has appointed 15 MPs as Cabinet Ministers and 38 State Ministers,which amounts to 53 Ministers in total.

According to Article 46 (1) of the 19th Amendment, a total of 70 Ministers can be appointed, which could include 30 Ministers and 40 State and Deputy Ministers.