Apr 09, 2018

‘Group of 16’ meets separately before SLFP CC meeting tonight Featured

The 15 SLFP MPs in the government, sans Susil Premajayantha who is abroad, all of whom who opposed the prime minister at the no-confidence motion against him, had a meeting this morning (09).

They discussed the central committee meeting of the party crucial for them that takes place tonight.

They have previously said that they were prepared to resign from their ministerial positions.

The group of 16 says they will never leave the SLFP, but will strengthen the president and take the party closer to the people.

The UNP insists that they should also resign, and has even planned a no-confidence motion against them, which PM Ranil Wickremesinghe wanted withdrawn.

Wasudewa Nayakkara 670px 09JO’s duty is to protect the 16 SLFP MPs – Vasudeva

Meanwhile, joint opposition’s Vasudeva Nanayakkara told the media today that the JO had a duty to protect these 16 SLFP MPs.

He urged them to remain in the government and wage an internal struggle, which he said, was the stand of the president too.

Susil Premajayantha, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Chandima Weerakkody, Thilanga Sumathipala, Dilan Perera, Susantha Punchinilame, T.B. Ekanayake, Anuradha Jayaratne, Tharanath Basnayake, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, John Seneviratne, Nimal Lansa, S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Sudarshani Fernandopulle and Sumedha G. Jayasena voted in support of the no-confidence motion against the PM on April 04.

The SLFP CC meeting tonight, to be chaired by the president, is to take a final decision with regard to them.

Dumnda MahindaSLFP MPs who opposed the PM will be protected – Amaraweera & Duminda

UPFA general secretary Mahinda Amaraweera says he will appear on behalf of the 16 SLFP MPs who opposed the PM at the no-confidence motion.

He made the remark while addressing a public meeting yesterday afternoon.

Amaraweera said the group of SLFP MPs would be protected as they have given a written undertaken that their politics would always be with the party only.

SLFP general secretary Duminda Dissanayake too, says the 16 party MPs will be protected from pressure by the UNP.

He affirmed that the party would always stand by its members.

Related articles:

Attempt to remove Mahinda & Duminda!

Group of 16 to takeover SLFP’s power?

SLFP back to the Rajapaksas?