SLFP CC to decide role in govt. SLFP CC to decide role in govt.
Apr 08, 2018

Group of 16 to takeover SLFP’s power?

The SLFP ministers who opposed prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe at the no-confidence motion are planning to takeover power of the party at its central committee meeting tomorrow (09), say political sources.

The meeting will decide the party’s role in the present government, and the 16 ministers are to propose the implementation of a programme to strengthen the party after leaving their positions.

Party leader, president Maithripala Sirisena has responded favourably for their suggestion.

Susil Premajayantha, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Chandima Weerakkody, Thilanga Sumathipala, Dilan Perera, Susantha Punchinilame, T.B. Ekanayake, Anuradha Jayaratne, Tharanath Basnayake, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, John Seneviratne, Nimal Lansa, S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Sudarshani Fernandopulle and Sumedha G. Jayasena voted in support of the no-confidence motion against the PM on April 04.

The SLFP CC is likely to get heated up when this matter is taken up.

President Sirisena too, has said that the meeting would decide the party’s role in the government.