Mar 21, 2018

5 SLFP MPs sign no-confidence motion Featured

Five SLFP MPs in the government have signed the no-confidence motion that is to be moved against prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, a joint opposition MP told Sri Lanka Mirror.

They include T.B. Ekanayake, Nishantha Muthuhettigama and Susantha Punchi Nilame, said the MP.

According to him, 17 UNP MPs too, have promised to support the no-confidence motion once it is presented to parliament.

To prevent their exposure, they will not place their signatures in the document that will be handed over to the speaker today, said the JO MP.

The JO has convened a media briefing at the parliamentary complex that is to take place after the handover that is expected around 2.00 pm.