Feb 09, 2018

Here’s how to vote tomorrow (Video)

According to the new electoral system, a voter should only place one cross sign (X) in the box opposite the party or independent group sign that the desired candidate represents, on the ballot paper, said the Elections Commission.

All names of the political parties contesting the election are listed in the ballot paper alphabetically, while the independent groups are listed numerically together with their signs. Opposite the respective signs of the contesting parties or independent groups, there is an empty box where a voter can place a cross sign.  

The Elections Commission notified all voters that only one cross (X) sign should be placed opposite the sign of the desired party or independent group and no other sign or marking should be placed on the ballot paper. 

The new voting procedure is shown below in Sinhala and Tamil :

Related News : 

‘Mark only one cross on ballot paper’