Dec 11, 2017

10 more JO MPs to join SLFP! Featured

Ten MPs of the joint opposition, including two of its powerful figures, are due to join the SLFP, according to President’s Office sources.


One of these key UPFA activists will crossover on December 14, followed by the other on December 21.

The JO MPs who are to join the SLFP are from Colombo, Ratnapura, Kandy, Kurunegala, Moneragala, Badulla, Kegalle, Matara, Ampara and Anuradhapura.

The desertion of the JO by several of its MPs is blamed on the authoritarian conduct of ex-minister Basil Rajapaksa.

One of them, Sriyani Wijewickrema, had been forced into joining the president by some in the JO, leader of the JO Dinesh Gunawardena has commented.