Sep 09, 2017

EDB to [resent 21st Presidential Export Awards

The 21st Presidential Export Award Ceremony organized by the Sri Lanka Export Development Board (EDB) will be held on Thursday 14th September 2017 at 10.00 a.m. at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH). The president will be chief guest at this event.

The Presidential Export Awards (PEA) initiated by the EDB in 1981 is the most prestigious award for exports in Sri Lanka and is presented to exporters who have made a significant contribution to Sri Lanka’s exports.

This year’s ceremony will recognize and salute the exporters for their excellence in the year 2016 and the awards symbolize the national recognition of the exporters, particularly in non-traditional products and services.

The PEA 2016 is organized by the EDB under the leadership of Indira Malwatte, Chairperson and Chief Executive and the guidance and directions of Malik Samarawickrama, Minister of Development Strategies & International Trade and Sujeewa Senasinghe, State Minister of International Trade.

The selections for the awards done by an eminent panel headed by retired judge of the Supreme Court. In total, 60 awards will be presented during the ceremony. 11 special overall awards, 15 for highest foreign exchange earners, and 34 sectoral awards for Best Value Added Exporters.