Aug 28, 2017

SLFP is likely to suspend seven MPs Featured

The SLFP has decided to suspend the party membership of seven of its MPs who are with the joint opposition, reliable sources say.

They are Pavitradevi Wanniarachchi, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Prasanna Ranatunga, Prasanna Ranaweera, Sanath Nishantha, Dilum Amunugama and Lohan Ratwatte.

According to the sources, these MPs have disregarded and criticized party decisions and violated the party constitution.

The 19th amendment to the constitution says an MP will lose his parliamentary seat if he is removed from his party.

2066563654sanath nishantha2
Criticizing party leadership and decisions

Decision on Sanath Nishantha is today

Meanwhile, a committee headed by lawyer Champani Padmasekara will announce its decision today (28) with regard to a disciplinary inquiry held against Sanath Nishantha.

He is accused of criticizing the SLFP leadership and decisions.

Meanwhile, UPFA general secretary Mahinda Amaraweera has told a function in Tissamaharama that strong action would be taken against SLFP MPs who promoted other parties.