Jul 04, 2017

92 MPs contribute salary for disaster relief Featured

Of the 225 MPs, 92 have contributed this month’s salary of Rs. 54,285 each towards the provision of relief for the people affected by the recent disasters.

Among them are 63 from the UNF, 24 from the UPFA’s government members and one SLFP MP, according to parliament sources.

UNF MPs’ contribution will be credited to a new education development account, while the UPFA contributors will give the money to a Disaster Management Ministry disaster relief fund today through president Maithripala Sirisena.

Contributions by joint opposition and JVP MPs have been collected separately, but had not been deducted from their salaries, sources add.

TNA and EPDF MPs too, have asked that contributions be deducted from their salaries.