Jun 17, 2017

Pilleyan could get released from Pararajasingham assassination? Featured

In relation to the assassination of TNA Baticaloa MP Joseph Pararajasingham, although two other suspects are to be taken into custody, the arrests have so far not been made.

Five suspects had been arrested in relation to the incident and upon being produced in Court they have been remanded.

Among those arrested is the former Eastern Province Chief Minister Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan alias Pilleyan.

Indictments have been filed against this group. However, according to Police internal sources, since two others wanted in connection with this murder is still not arrested, there is a doubt whether Pilleyan would be released from this case.

In addition to Pilleyan, Rengasamy Kanaganayagam alias Kajan, Edwin Silva Krishnanandarajah alias Pradeep Master, Mira Lebbe Kaleel alias Suresh alias Manjula alias Salam and Gunasingha Arachchige Tharindu Madusanka alias Vinodh alias Madhu are the others arrested in connection to this assassination.

Escaped suspects complete names unknown

It is reported that the full names of the other two suspects wanted in connection with this murder are still unknown. However investigations by the terrorist prevention units and intelligence units have uncovered information suggesting that the two suspects are residents of the Trincomalee area. It is also learnt that they had fled to India in 1990 and returned to the country in 2004 and obtained membership in the TMVP political party. However, they had once again fled to India in 2007.

Meanwhile the second suspect Ariyanayagam Dharmanayagam alias Olapatti Kumar was said to have been residing near the Thattumunai Kovil but he is said to have fled the area and is currently in hidin