Apr 04, 2017

JVP to boycott constitutional assembly steering committee Featured

The JVP has decided to boycott the steering committee of the constitutional assembly, chaired by prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, according to speculation in the political circles.

Its leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake will not attend three days of meetings of the committee that starts today (04).

However, Sri Lanka Mirror made inquiries and found that Dissanayake would be absent, as he would be in the outstations to organize the party’s April heroes’ event.

Meanwhile, joint opposition leader Dinesh Gunawardena is to raise objections to Wickremesinghe, over a secret discussion he had on March 27, at today’s meeting of the steering committee.

Gunawardena will demand the disclosure of what had taken place at the meeting attended by president Maithripala Sirisena, Wickremesinghe, opposition leader R. Sampanthan, SLMC leader Rauff Hakeem, Mano Ganeshan and Risath Bathiudeen

At that meeting, president Sirisena has instructed the PM to expedite the process to formulate a new constitution, say sources at the president’s office.

He noted that according to constitutional experts, power devolution proposals could be adopted without a referendum.


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.