Sep 08, 2021

27 from ruling party hadn't voted for Emergency Regulations! Featured

27 ruling party ministers and MPs have not been in parliament to vote for the Emergency Regulations on Sep. 06.

Nine among them are in quarantine and another six are overseas. Ruling party MP Kapila Athukorala arrived once the voting was concluded. 

Athuraliye Rathana thero, Wimal Weerawansa, S. Viyalendran, A.L.M. Athaulla, Wijedasa Rajapaksa, Ashoka Priyantha are among those who have not notified a reason for their absence. 

MPs Ali Sabry Rahim, Faizal Caseem, M.M.M. Haaris, M.S. Thaufeek, Nazeer Ahamed who recently joined the ruling party from the opposition ranks too were not present for the vote. 

However, MPs Aravinda Kumar, Ishak Rahuman and M. Musharaff who recently joined the Government, voted in favour of the Emergency Regulations.