Aug 14, 2021

7 media channels for education Featured

The Government is to establish 20 educational media channels.

As an  initial step, six TV channels and one radio channel will be launched shortly.

The 7 channels are scheduled to begin broadcasting on 16 August, said Media Minister Keheliya Rambukwelle, according to a report published in the Silumina newspaper. 

These channels will be dedicated to educational content. The TV channels are a collaboration with Sri Lanka Telecom and will be aired via PEO TV, while the radio channel, ‘Vision FM’, is a collaboration with the Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation.

Guru Gedara and  E-Thaksalawa are the currently available channels.