Jul 11, 2021

Major positions at state institutions to change!

It is reported that several prominent government positions are to undergo changes soon.
The changes will include the chairman of the Independent Television Network and the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.
It is said that Mr. Renuka Perera will be appointed as the new chairman of ITN, replacing Mr. Sudath Rohana.
2 new governors
P.S.M. Charles and Raja Kollure, who are currently working as the governors of North and North Western provinces respectively, are to be removed as well.
Sources say that former cabinet minister - Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena is to be appointed to one of the governor positions while the replacement for the other position remains unknown still.
SLIC - Aussie HC posts in a tangle
Meanwhile, the current Chairman of the Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation - Dr. Jagath Wellawatte, has been tipped to fill the currently vacant post of Sri Lankan High Commissioner to Australia.
In return, it has been proposed to appoint former MP Jayantha Ketagoda (who had resigned from his MP position to pave the way for Basil Rajapaksa to enter parliament) as the new SLIC Chairman. However, internal government sources say that Ketagoda has rejected the offer, ensuing complications with regard to both posts.
Litro - NHDA

Currently the post of Chairman at the National Housing Development Authority is also vacant and it is said current Chairman of Litro Gas Company Anil Koswatte is to be appointed for this position.
Subsequently, Theshara Jayasinghe, who is considered as one of the 12 founding members of the 'Viyath Maga' movement, is to be appointed as the new Chairman of Litro.