Jul 08, 2021

After blessings by PM, Basil to be sworn in before president as Minister of Finance

SLPP National Organiser Basil Rajapaksa is to be sworn in as the Minister of Finance before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa this morning, internal government  sources said.
It is learnt that Basil Rajapaksa would first visit the Temple Trees to obtain the blessings of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and then go to the Presidential Secretariat to be sworn in the finance portfolio. Thereafter, he would arrive in Parliament to be sworn in as a MP.
The 9th chair of the first row in the parliament's government side has been allocated for Basil Rajapaksa. The particular chair was previously occupied by Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi.
Accordingly, Basil Rajapaksa would  occupy the seat next to the president in the parliament. According to the usual seating arrangements in Parliament, in the first seat of the second lot of the first row is allocated to the Chief goverment whip, the next is for Leader of the House, Prime Minister, President and now Basil Rajapaksa sits on the next seat.