Nov 05, 2020

All fmr. members dropped from new election commission? Featured

The new election commission to be appointed by President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa will not include all three former members, according to internal sources.

The term of the Election Commission was due to expire on November 16, but was repealed with the enactment of the 20th Amendment on Oct. 29.

According to the new constitution, five members will be appointed to the Election Commission as opposed to three members in the previous commission.

Previously, Mahinda Deshapriya served as the Chairman of the Election Commission with N. J. Abeysekera P.C. and Prof. Ratnajeevan H. Hoole as the other members.

The 20th Amendment will allow the President to nominate members to the Election Commission at any time.

The three members of the Election Commission are paid an annual allowance of Rs. 5.4 million.

Two members of the commission were also accused of misusing official quarters and vehicles belonging to the Elections Department.

New party registration

Meanwhile, there have been allegations of irregularities with regard to registration of new parties done recently.

It is said that several qualified parties were cut off under the influence of a SLPP strongman.

'Parapuraka Balaya', which had been involved in politics for over 05 years, were among  such rejected parties, reports add.

(Source - Aruna)