Oct 03, 2020

Basil's mission brings 5 opposition MPs to govt Featured

According to political sources, five opposition parliamentarians will join the government to support the 20th amendment to the constitution.

It is said that former Minister Basil Rajapaksa, the National Organizer of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), has taken over the operation to obtain the support of the five MPs.

It is reported that among them there are several members of the opposition attached to minority parties.

The SLPP won a total of 145 seats in the last election.

With the addition of two MPs from Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP), Athaullah's National Congress, Pillayan's party and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), the ruling party has risen to 150 seats.

However, with the appointment of Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena as the Speaker, the ruling party now has 149 seats.

The passage of the 20th Amendment requires the support of 150 members.

Therefore, Basil Rajapaksa has started the campaign to get 5 opposition members to the ruling party.

SLFP full support to 20th Amendment

However, it is reported that the SLFP has decided to give its full support to the amendment.

According to internal sources, the SLFP recently appointed a committee to look into the 20th Amendment and has unanimously decided to support it.