Aug 20, 2020

Posts for Ranjith & Angajan (Update)

(Update) - Ranjith Siyambalapitiya has been elected as the Deputy Speaker of the 9th Parliament in Sri Lanka.

He has been proposed by Minister Mahinda Amaraweera seconded by Minister Nimal Lanza.

Meanwhile, Jaffna district Parliamentarian Angajan Ramanathan has been elected as the Deputy Chairperson of Committees of the 9th Parliament.


Previous update at : (Thursday, 20 August 2020 10:04)

Mahinda Yapa elected Speaker

Matara district Parliament-elect Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena has been elected as the Speaker of the Ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka.

He was nominated by Dinesh Gunawardena seconded by Ranjith Madduma Bandara of the Opposition

Meanwhile, ministers Dinesh Gunawardena and Johnston Fernando assumed duties as the Leader of the House and Chief Government Whip of the ninth Parliament at the Parliamentary Complex respectively a short while ago, today (20).