Aug 13, 2020

Ministers ordered not to remove Presidential appointees Featured

The Presidential Secretariat has reportedly informed all ministry secretaries that Chairmen and Director Board members currently appointed to state Institutions will continue to hold those posts.

Secretary to the President - P.B. Jayasundera has formally  informed all ministry secretaries of this on Aug. 11. The letter notes that should any changes be made, it should be consulted with the president first.

Director Boards and heads were appointed to state institutions by a special panel after president Gotabaya Rajapaksa came to power.

It is said that the Presidential Secretariat has issued a special circular restricting the salaries and fuel allowances of the appointed Heads of State Institutions.

Assume duties before 17
Meanwhile, president Gotabaya Rajapaksa has informed the newly sworn in Cabinet and State ministers to assume their official duties before next Monday (17).

The announcement was made at a luncheon held at the President's House in Kandy after the swearing in ceremony held in the Magul Maduwa yesterday morning.

Accordingly, a significant number of Cabinet ministers, including Prasanna Ranatunga and Pavithra Wanniarachchi, are to assume duties today (13).