Aug 08, 2020

10 more to join government: Sajith's people among them

It is reported that 10 newly elected members of the opposition have decided to join the new government.

Accordingly, two members from a party affiliated to the plantation community, four members representing Colombo and Gampaha districts of the Western Province, two members from two minority parties in the Eastern Province and one member from Polonnaruwa are to join the government.

In addition to the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna in Polonnaruwa, the only Member of Parliament elected was from Sajith Premadasa's Samagi Jana Balawegaya.

The MPs have been conducting discussions to support the new government since last Friday.