Jul 08, 2020

UGC to set up 5 new universities

The University Grants Commission says that the initial process to construct new universities in five districts are underway.

“These universities will be established in Kalutara, Nuwara-Eliya, Matale, Hambantota and Mullaitivu districts and five teams consisting of professors, have been appointed to prepare the plans of these Universities,” Prof. Janitha Liyanage – the Vice-Chairperson of the UGC said on July 08.

According to the University Grants Commission, for these new universities admission will not be based on the Z-score, rather all students who pass the GCE Advanced Level examination are eligible to enter based on results of a proficiency test.

The degree programmes and diploma courses of these universities will be prepared to target the job market of the respective district.

“The process of acquiring lands for the new universities is currently underway and construction will commence before the end of this year,” Prof. Liyanage further noted.

(Excerpts : newsfirst.lk)