May 27, 2020

Mahinda Rajapaksa marks 50 yrs. in Parliament politics Featured

Today (May 26), Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa marks 50 years after entering Parliament.

Rajapaksa was first elected to the Parliament of Sri Lanka in 1970, May 27 as the youngest MP.

He served as Prime Minister from 6 April 2004 until his victory in the 2005 presidential election. He was sworn in for his first term as president on 19 November 2005. He was re-elected for a second term on 27 January 2010. After being defeated in his bid for a third presidential term, he left office on 9 January 2015.

Several months after leaving office, he was elected as an MP for Kurunegala District.
We, at 'Sri Lanka Mirror', wish him all the best.