Apr 12, 2020

Curfew extended until April 16

Curfew will be temporarily lifted in all areas except in the high risk areas on April 16.

The districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kandy, Kalutara, Puttalam and Jaffna have been marked as high risk areas due to the Covid-19 epidemic.

In the remaining districts, curfew will be lifted at 6.00am on April 16 and reimposed at 4.00pm on the same day.

Although the President’s Media Division (PMD) had initially stated that curfew for these districts would be lifted on April 14, the latest PMD release had announced that curfew would be extended islandwide until April 16.

Travelling between districts remains prohibited.

The media release is as follows :