Mar 22, 2020

6 fmr. MPs out of Gen. election

Six former parliamentarians have not handed in nominations for the next parliamentary election.

It is singular that they were not included in any national list either.

Accordingly, former parliamentarians Karu Jayasuriya, Sagala Ratnayake, Nishantha Muthuhettigama, Mayantha Dissanayake, Wasantha Senanayake and SB Nawinna will not contest at the next Gen. election.

Mr. Jayasuriya, the former Speaker of the House has decided to quit politics due to the split of the UNP.

It is said that Sagala Ratnayake has not been given nominations over the protest of party seniors. Mayantha too, had decided not to contest.

Meanwhile, Nishantha Muthuhettigama did not receive nominations from the Sri Lanka Podujana Party (SLPP). although he had expected to contest from the Galle district.

Also, Wasantha Senanayake who had crossed over from the UNP last year and former minister - SB Nawinna had not received nominations either. They had both expected to contest under the ticket of the SLPP.

According to the Elections Commission, 3,652 candidates from recognised political parties and 3,800 candidates from independent groups will contest the next parliamentary election. This brings the total number candidates to 7452.

The highest number of candidates are contesting from the Colombo district, which is 924. This figure includes 352 candidates from recognized political parties and 572 from independent groups.