Dec 06, 2019

Gazette issued banning re-export of spices & allied products Featured

The government has banned the imports of several spices in a bid to boost local production and to uplift farmers, the Finance Ministry said today (Dec 6).

Among the spices which would be banned are areca nut, pepper, tamarind, cinnamon, mace, nutmeg, and cloves.

The ministry said the value of Sri Lankan spices had fetched low prices in the world market as a result of re-exporting low-quality foreign products under the Sri Lankan labelling.

As a result, farmers and exporters had been affected in the recent past, the ministry claimed.

In addition, kites, firecrackers and vesak lanterns will be imported under strict regulations in future.