Dec 04, 2019

Only 2 'Good Governance' ministers hand over official residences Featured

All former cabinet ministers, non-cabinet ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers of the previous government have so far failed to hand over their official residences, except for just two of them, according to Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs informed sources.

After the victory of Gotabhaya Rajapaksa at the recently concluded presidential election and Ranil Wickremesinghe stepping down from his Prime Minister post, the former Cabinet was abolished.

Accordingly, Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the new Prime Minister and subsequently a new Cabinet was sworn in.

However, as the former ministers have so far not vacated their official residences, the newly appointed ministers are unable to get accommodation.

The only two former ministers who had vacated their official residences and handed them over are Patali Champika Ranawaka and Ranjith Maddumabandara.