Nov 28, 2019

Southern PC Authority chairmen asked to resign Featured

The Chairmen of the five authorities under the Southern Provincial Council have been verbally notified to resign from their posts today, it is reported.

Based on the advice of the Southern Province Governor Dr. Willie Gamage, the Chairmen of the Southern Province Development Authority, Technical Development Authority, Southern Province Transport Authority, Southern Province Road Development Authority and the Ruhunu Tourism Bureau have been verbally notified to resign, the Governor’s Secretary A.U Welaratne said.  

He said that the appointing of chairmen to these establishments would be carried out after an interview process, adding that the same officials could also apply if they wish.

He further noted that the Governor has the authority to remove any of these chairpersons who fail to resign voluntarily.