Sep 05, 2019

If SLFP-MPs fail to attend disciplinary inquiry their posts in jeopardy Featured

The SLFP had taken a decision to initiate disciplinary action against five national list MPs and they were notified yesterday. However, if they evade the disciplinary inquiry, they could lose their parliamentary membership, it is reported.

S.B. Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Vijith Wijayamuni Soysa and A.H.M. Fawzy had been issued letters summoning them for a disciplinary inquiry, said the SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara.

However, MP Fawzy said that the SLFP Chairman is the President and he should take full responsibility for the destruction of the SLFP.

He said prior to initiating disciplinary action against the five MPs disciplinary action should be initiated against the party Chairman and the General Secretary.

However, Fawzy said that he had so far not received such a notification.

“It is true that I have distanced myself a little from the party..I am the Central Colombo Organiser. I was removed from my post. I am the most senior Deputy Chairman. Not Nimal Siripala, I am the most senior Deputy Chairman. When I am removed like this, do they think I will take it lying down?”

Meanwhile, addressing the press conference, MP Mahinda Amaraweera said seeking disciplinary action against such Pradeshiya Sabha members, who had left the party along with these parliamentarians, has already commenced and that the public had raised questions concerning the failure to take disciplinary action against these five National List MPs.