Aug 15, 2019

PC polls : CJ appoints 5-member judge bench

The Chief Justice has appointed a five member judge bench led by him to issue a determination on the law to conduct the provincial council elections after the President had sought an opinion to that effect recently.

The judge bench would comprise of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, along with Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, Sisira de Abrew, Vijith Malalgoda, and Prasanna Jayawardena.

President Maithripala Sirisena had sought the opinion of the Supreme Court court to determine whether the elections could be held under the Proportional Representation (PR) system which existed before the Provincial Councils (Amendment) Act was passed in 2017.

The court's opinion is expected to be sent to the President before the end of this month.