Jun 23, 2019

New alliance from UNP for Presidential Polls Featured

The United National Party (UNP) will be contesting the next presidential election from an alliance named National Democratic Front, reports say.

Minister of Internal and Home Affairs and Provincial Councils and Local Government J C Alawathuwala stated that the United National Party (UNP) led coalition is expected to announce its candidate for the next presidential election in August.

He further stated that the candidate contesting for the Presidential election is a UNP representative and that he is not a common candidate.

However, it is reported that the National Democratic Front will contest the next presidential election under the diamond symbol.

UNP Leader and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has said that he would form an alliance for the forthcoming presidential election during the rally held last December at Galle Face grounds.

Three alliances

Meanwhile, political sources say that the next presidential election will be a battle of three major alliances.

The United National Front led by the United National Party, Joint Opposition led by Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna and Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) have already begun their preparations for the presidential election.

The Joint Opposition and the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna are to form a new national alliance with a host of other parties and public organizations.

A senior spokesperson of this new alliance said that a candidate representing this new alliance would contest the presidential election. It is reported that a number of political parties and over 15 organizations have already held discussions with the alliance.

In addition to these two alliances, JVP will launch another alliance called the National Progressive Alliance.

The JVP is reportedly planning to field a candidate for the next presidential election from the said alliance.

It is said that the JVP is to bring in a scholarly professional who endorses the ideology of the JVP for the election.

In addition to these three alliances, Nagananda Kodituwakku, Rohan Pallewatta and several other independent candidates are expected to contest the Presidential election.