Dec 19, 2018

Some ministers to take oaths today? Featured

Some members of the cabinet, including the finance minister, will take their oaths today (19), UNP MP Ashok Abeysinghe says.

He has told Neth News that 18 or 20 ministers would be sworn-in, followed by the others tomorrow.

Abeysinghe also said no final decision had yet been taken on the ministry of law and order.

Contrary to media reports, presidential secretariat sources said no list of the cabinet members was received yesterday.

Talks with SLFP MPs

Meanwhile, UNP leaders continued talks last night to obtain the support of more SLFP MPs.

What has transpired at those meetings will be intimated to the prime minister today.

However, president Maithripala Sirisena has refused to grant any ministerial positions to SLFP MPs supporting the new government.