Dec 16, 2018

Amaraweera-Duminda group to announce decision today Featured

A group of around 23 MPs led by Mahinda Amaraweera and Duminda Dissanayake is expected to announce today (16) if they will join the government that will be formed by the UNF.

Leader of the UPFA and the SLFP, president Maithripala Sirisena, has refused to form a coalition government with the UNF again.

UNF backbenchers too, are exerting pressure on their leadership against forming a coalition government, and say SLFP MPs as individuals, not as a group, will be accepted.

According to UNP sources, a considerable number of SLFP MPs has agreed to that condition.

President Sirisena has told UPFA MPs that they were free to join a government by the UNF and that disciplinary action would not be taken against any such MPs.