Nov 15, 2018

Hooliganism in the House ! Your vote is your choice (Video)

(Update) It was a bleak day in the history of the Sri Lankan parliament with ugly scenes that followed during today's (15) sittings.

The names of MPs Prasanna Ranaweera, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Lohan Rathwatta, Ranjith Soyza and Dilum Amunugama were especially noted with disgust by Tweeps for their shameful display of hooliganism near the Speaker's chair.

Prasanna Ranaweera was seen clutching the collar of Navin Dissanayake, who was among the many UNP MPs who had come forward in the Speaker's defence.


 Ranith Soyza was seen hurling a wastepaper basket at the 78-old Speaker.


 Tweeps also noted Prasanna Ranaweera had poured water on the Speaker's chair and Mahindananda Aluthgamage had egged on fellow JO MPs to take photos saying 'Speaker to Choo giya' (The Speaker had wet himself).


 It was initially reported that Dilum Amunugama had been injured. However, footage which emerged later revealed that the MP had injured himself while attempting pull out the microphone at the Speaker's desk.

In a separate incident, Lohan Ratwatte was seen pushing Champika Ranawaka who was in the presence of former president Mahinda Rajapaksa.


 Meanwhile, the moment when UNP MP Palitha Thewarapperuma had displayed his stomach, is making rounds on social media on a more humorous note. Photos of the clash also show him with a dinner knife in hand. 


ThewarapperumaPhoto Courtesy : Sajeewa Chinthaka (


Many have openly questioned about voting such individuals to parliament again.