Oct 28, 2018

Mahinda at talks with Tamil Progressive Alliance Featured

Talks are underway to obtain the support of four Tamil Progressive Alliance MPs for Mahinda Rajapaksa, reliable sources say.

Formed in 2015, the TPA comprises the Democratic People’s Front, National Workers Front and the Upcountry People’s Front and has six seats.

The MPs being targeted for support by the Rajapaksa side are Aravinda Kumar and V. Radhakrishnan (UPF), Velu Kumar (DPF) and Mylvaganam Thilak Raj (NWF).

However, TPA strongman Palani Digambaram is unaware of this development.

He told the media at Temple Trees yesterday that TPF would continue to support the UNP led by Ranil Wickremesinghe.

So is Mano Ganeshan, another key figure of the TPF, reports say.

Following is the parliament’s composition of parties and their MPs:

Parties Manthri lk